Justin Houston wins Deacon Jones award

Kansas City Chiefs outside linebacker Justin Houston won the Deacon Jones Award, given annually to the NFL leader in quarterback sacks.

The Pro Bowl pass rusher led the NFL with 22 sacks, a half-sack behind the NFL record set by Hall of Fame defensive end Michael Strahan in 2001.

"He's one of the greatest defensive players and sack masters of all time,” Houston said. “I’d like to thank my teammates, coaches and our fan base. They rallied behind us all season long and helped fuel our pass rush. To have my name mentioned in the same sentence as a player like Deacon Jones is truly a blessing.”

Jones died last year at the age of 74.

One of the greatest defensive players in NFL history, Jones was a fixture at defensive end from 1961-74 with the Los Angeles Rams, San Diego Chargers and Washington Redskins, earning unanimous all-league honors in five consecutive seasons. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980.

Follow me on Twitter: @RavensInsider

Aaron Wilson covers the Ravens for The Baltimore Sun

Aaron Wilson
Aaron Wilson covers the NFL for National Football Post, his second stint at the Post. He has previously written for Pro Football Talk and FOX Sports-Scout. Entering his 13th year covering the Baltimore Ravens, he's a beat writer for The Baltimore Sun. Wilson has also covered the Jacksonville Jaguars and Tennessee Titans.

Upcoming Games